One bad decision can change your life forever. Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or other substances has serious consequences in Florida, some of which can affect you for much longer than you may expect.
Florida law charges DUIs when there is a blood alcohol or breath alcohol level (BAL) of 0.08 or higher.
If this is the first time you for a DUI offense, you should be aware of the penalties that you may face:
- Fines – For a blood alcohol level of 0.08, you will have a fine between $500 and $1,000. For a BAL of 0.15 or higher, the fine will be between $1,000 and $2,000.
- Imprisonment – For a BAL of 0.08, you may face up to six months of jail time. For a BAL of 0.15 or higher, jail time can be up to nine months. Imprisonment can sometimes be served at a treatment center upon the court’s discretion.
- Community service – There is a mandatory requirement of 50 hours of community service for first offenses.
- License revocation – For a first DUI offense in which there is no injuries, there is license revocation for anywhere between 180 days to a full year. If there were injuries sustained with the DUI, the license revocation period is a minimum of three years.
- Impoundment – Your vehicle may be impounded for up to ten days after a first DUI offense unless your family has no other method of transportation.
DUIs are a serious offense and require your utmost care and attention. Protect yourself and your future by consulting with an experienced attorney who can help you through the process of your DUI conviction.