If you’re caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more in Florida, you could be facing serious consequences. Depending on your BAC level and the number of convictions you’ve had in the past, you could be facing large fines, prison times, license suspension and more. Here’s what to expect if you’re convicted with a DUI charge.
What are the punishments for a DUI conviction in Florida?
If this is your first conviction, you could be looking at a fine up to $1,000 and up to six months of prison time. For second convictions, you might get a $2,000 fine and up to nine months in prison. For third convictions, you might receive a $5,000 fine and up to a year in prison. If you get a fourth conviction, you’re looking at a fine of at least $2,000–and possibly higher–with up to five years in prison time.
Certain situations can increase your penalties, whether this is your first DUI conviction or your fourth. If you’re driving with a minor in the vehicle or your BAC was 0.15 or higher, you’re looking at sharply increased fines and even more prison time. Your attorney could give you more information about the increased penalties in these cases.
If you commit certain crimes while driving under the influence, additional charges can be added to your DUI charge. Depending on the situation, you could be charged with property damage, manslaughter or even vehicular homicide. If you injure someone in a car accident, you could be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the severity. These charges all come with their own set of fines and prison sentences.
How can an attorney help you with a DUI charge?
Working with an attorney, you might be able to reduce your charges or argue for reduced sentencing. An attorney could help you if you have other charges added to your case, like manslaughter, underage driving or resisting arrest. They could argue for alternate sentencing, like community service or mandatory classes instead of jail time. They might even prevent your license from being revoked.