FAQ About Drug Violations
Strict Florida drug violation laws necessitate skilled legal representation by someone who knows how to pursue the opportunities for reduction or elimination of your charge. Board Certified Criminal Defense attorney David Mengers from Ocala combines an encyclopedic knowledge of drug laws with a zealous defense of your rights. Here are some drug violations FAQ that are especially applicable to Florida.
What Are The Penalties For Marijuana Possession?
The state of Florida takes possession of even a small amount of marijuana very seriously. If law enforcement finds less than 20 grams of cannabis on your person, you are likely to get charged with a first-degree misdemeanor. Penalties you could get include:
- Up to one year in jail
- A fine of $1,000
- One year of probation and driver’s license suspension
I Have Not Committed Any Other Crime, And I Am A First-Time Offender. Is There An Alternative To A Criminal Sentence?
If you get caught with a small amount of drug, and it is your first criminal charge, you may qualify for Florida’s Pretrial Intervention Program. After you complete the program requirements in the prescribed time period, your charges disappear.
What Are The Penalties Of Possessing A Schedule II Drug Without A Prescription?
Possession of Schedule II drugs without a prescription, such as Vicodin, OxyContin and Fentanyl, is the second most common drug offense in the state of Florida. Penalties for possession of under four grams include:
- Up to five years of incarceration
- Up to five years of probation
- Up to a $5,000 fine
How Does Law Enforcement Try To Prove A Possession With Intent To Sell Charge?
When police find illegal drugs, they look for other evidence that could show that it was likely that the drugs were for sale. This type of evidence includes:
- Items commonly used in drug sales such as plastic bags
- Large amounts of money in the immediate area of the illegal substance
- Firearms in the area
Reach Out Today
Hiring experienced and skilled legal representation is your best chance to get the best outcome possible for your case. Call the Law Office of David Mengers today at 352-433-4925 or toll free at 888-300-1595 for an initial lawyer consultation. You can also reach us by filling out our online contact form.